ICRP ref: 4824-2194-5364 Released July 8, 2013

New ICRP Emeritus Members

On July 1, 2013, the latest four-year ICRP membership term began. Effective as of this date, Emeritus Member status was conferred upon three ICRP Committee members: Keith Eckerman, Sören Mattsson, and Marvin Rosenstein. This followed a unanimous decision at the most recent meeting of the ICRP Main Commission, held in Cambridge, UK, April 15 to 18, 2013, and marks the first time in ICRP history that Emeritus Member status was conferred on Committee members. This honorary distinction, conferred for life, is an expression of appreciation of extraordinary contributions to ICRP.

These three new emeritus members join six other distinguished ICRP figures, all ICRP Main Commission Emeritus Members: Professor Roger H. Clarke, Professor Bo Lindell, Professor Charles B. Meinhold, Professor Fred A. Mettler, Jr., Professor Warren K. Sinclair, and Professor Christian Streffer.



Dr Keith F. Eckerman ICRP Committee 2 Emeritus Member

Keith Eckerman has worked at Argonne National Laboratory, the Atomic Energy Commission, the Nuclear Regulatory Commission, and, from 1979 until his retirement in 2013, at Oak Ridge National Laboratory as the leader of the Dosimetry Research Group. research has been in the field of radiation dosimetry and its data needs with respect to anatomical, physiological and radiological parameters. He has been a member of ICRP Committee 2 since 1984, and chaired the ICRP Task Group on Dose Calculations from 1984 to 2007.



Prof Sören Mattsson, PhD ICRP Committee 3 Emeritus Member

Sören Mattsson has worked as professor of Medical Radiation Physics/chief of clinical Medical Physics at Lund University/Malmö Uni-Hospital versity and University/Sahl-Göteborg grenska Uni-versity Hospital, Sweden. He has supervised 36 PhD students, and has done research in medical physics, radiation protection, in vivo elemental analysis, etc. He has been a member of ICRP Committee 3 since 1985, and continues to chair the ICRP Task Group on Radiation Dose to Patients from Radiopharmaceuticals.



Dr Marvin Rosenstein ICRP Committee 3 Emeritus Member

Marvin Rosenstein was a Commissioned Officer in the U. S. Public Health Service. from 1962 to 1995, and from 1982 to 1995 was Director, Office of Health Physics at the Center for Devices and Radiological Health, U.S. Food and Drug Administration. His work has focused on radiation dosimetry, particularly with regard to x rays used for medical diagnosis, epidemiological studies of exposed populations, and radiation emergencies. He is a Distinguished Emeritus Member of the NCRP, and has been a member of ICRP Committee 3 since 1985.